What do vets think about the raw diet? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

What do vets think about the raw diet?

Hi All,

As I'm sure many of you have read, I am in the beginning stages of transitioning ET to a raw diet. I am new to the city in which I live and I am taking ET to a vet on Monday for the first time since I adopted him (he was seen previously at the SPCA where I got him, of course) for a well visit. I of course want to be forthcoming about ETs diet but I am apprehensive as to what the vet will think. I pretty much had to select a vet without any personal recommendations, although the testimonials/reviews I read online seemed positive (she also is a cat-only vet).

So I guess my question is, how has your veterinarian handled your decision to feed raw? Were they supportive, in different, or totally horrified? What suggestions do you have for initiating these conversations? I hope I won't feel like I need to DEFEND my decision to feed raw, or be talked out of it!

Thanks in advance

-BP

Edited to add that ET is doing GREAT with the transition... still on just chicken (feeding 2 meals dry/wet, spaced 8 hrs apart from the middle raw meal) but has had 3 raw meals in the last 3 days!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 09:47 PM
Tom Cat

Re: What do vets think about the raw diet?

most of the time vets+raw=
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 09:53 PM
Senior Cat

This may be helpful: http://www.fnes.org/opinion/talking-to- ... -why-i-lie

Its easier to just attribute your cats healthiness to its diet but not saying what that diet is. Some vets will automatically blame raw for making a cat sick even if the cat is completly treatable and its illness has nothing to do with feeding raw.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 10:06 PM
Super Moderator