Why Organs? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Why Organs?

We've been researching cat nutrition over here, specifically looking at all the nutrition information etc of the various things I'm giving to my cat. One big thing stands out.

If you look at the vitamin/nutrition content of various parts of meat (breast, thigh, heart) vs organs, by and large muscle meat is much more nutritious than organs (except maybe kidney but even then...) and don't provide any useful unique compounds, that I can tell.

I know that the 80/10/10 system is well recognised, but is there a scientific/nutrition based reason for why we're feeding our cats organs, other than the fact that is supposedly "more natural" and maybe adds a bit of variety?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If anyone asks, I'm studying.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 12:54 PM
Banned

Re: Why Organs?

Well, for instance, cats/dogs who don't get enough liver can become vitamin A deficient.

I'm sure there are ways to "make up" for various lacks by providing something else . . . but that's kinda what the pet food cos already do, you know? And why we're not feeding pet food. Best is whole prey b/c it has everything for sure. If you don't feed whole prey, then IMO you need to do the best you can to mimic whole prey via frankenprey.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoofmaiden
Well, for instance, cats/dogs who don't get enough liver can become vitamin A deficient.
Sorry, yes, liver is the one important organ to feed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoofmaiden
Best is whole prey b/c it has everything for sure. If you don't feed whole prey, then IMO you need to do the best you can to mimic whole prey via frankenprey.