Another meal size question - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2010, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Another meal size question

I'm quite new to the raw food diet (as well as the board ), so please bear with me.

As most newbies I am very confused by the recommended daily portion size and am afraid that my kitty will not get some vital ingredients if I mess up.

Short background: adopted kitty from shelter 6 months ago, initially chubby and gaining weight gradually on a diet of dry food only. I didn't know any better since it is my first cat, but now that I do I really want to make sure that she gets the right type and amount of nutrition along with slowly shedding those extra pounds. I started feeding raw just two days ago.

She does not mind the raw food diet though for now I have make sure I chop up everything in edible pieces - her jaw strength isn't quite there yet.

Now, I know the 80-10-10 principle and that is clear (more or less ). However, I am still quite fuzzy as to how to ensure that I do not overfeed her but provide just the right amount of calories she needs (especially important since I do want her at a healthier weight).

For example: I went out and got chicken necks, hearts and livers (still have to get other meats). This is where the confusion starts - this morning I chopped up 2 necks, threw in a heart and a piece of liver (I'm not sure how they're divided, but I assume it was 1 chicken liver). When you look at it it seems quite a nice size, BUT how can you know that it really truly does contain all the necessary nutrients? I'm thinking that there is too little meat in there, so I'm thinking I should give her some meat in the evening - but how much??