Bones - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-19-2010, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Bones

Just want to make sure I'm doing this right. I'm still a beginner, started less than two weeks ago so just want to make sure. Bones are very confusing for me. I hate feeding them. Sometimes my kittens will eat them, sometimes they won't. It's hard to measure the bones and stuff. Chicken wings, I think, are still too big for them. Today they didn't eat ANY bone at all. Didn't even hear a crunch I don't think they got much bones at ALL this week. I've been soo unorganized with this. I feel like it was really, really unbalanced and I need to start over. Like I was trying to thaw some liver and kidney and my mom randomly gives them ALL of the liver and kidney that was probably suppose to be their organ and liver content for the WEEK. And then my dad likes to feed them chicken drumsticks when I'm not home. And then every time my cats cry, they feed them the dry food I feed the feral colonies! It has been BAD and I need to get more organized if I'm going to do this. OK so they do well with CGH bones. So what I'm doing is I divide the CGH in four pieces and feed each as a whole meal. Each cat gets two pieces throughout the whole week and that's their bone content for the week. I believe it meets the 2.24 oz they are suppose to get for the week. Doesn't it? I feel fine about feeding only two meals with bone within the 14 meals they get in a week (2 meals per day).

I don't have much variety with the muscle meat. I mean, all I feed is beef heart, boneless chicken, beef and turkey. That's about it. Pork is not allowed in my house and neither are mice But I think I found quail at the asian supermarket! So that's a plus.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-20-2010, 06:48 PM
Jr. Cat

Re: Bones