Neutered male, re-occuring FLUTD, raw, slight emergency - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-29-2010, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Neutered male, re-occuring FLUTD, raw, slight emergency

First off, hello all, now I'll just cut right to the chase.

So, I've been researching a raw diet for my dog for over a year, he will be started on that come summer when I get a new job. My research has been extensive on the dog front, and he is already on a half raw diet. So I know enough about RAW that I'm not a completely newbie. I also know cats are pure carnivores.

Now, my mom's cat is sick. He keeps getting crystals, and it's to the point that he may need to be put down because it just can't be afforded anymore, vet fees are rediculous, over 1500 so far in the last month. Now mother loves this cat, they are very bonded, he follows her around like a puppy, she's never been more attached to an animal I think, so don't say we don't love this animal, just when the money isn't there you can't do anything.

First time, he got sick it was the basic blockage, a month later a bit worst and he started peeing everywhere. Vet prescribed some new food (pshh, I don't know what it is, don't live at home, but I don't have faith in it, and results are showing me I shouldn't). Now he's been vomiting on and off a week, eats and drinks less and still peeing everywhere (which is good right?).

I've read a lots of the FLUTD problems are cause by water intake. Cats come from desert areas, evolved to drink less water due to climate, natural diet is raw meat where most water intake is from, nowadays cats still drink less but are on crappy food therefore this causes problems... So I'm thinking RAW is definetely the answer!