Best canned food for transitioning? MM/O/B content ?'s - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Best canned food for transitioning? MM/O/B content ?'s

*Preface: Sorry but this will be long!*

I've been feeding my dogs a raw diet for about 6 months now with great results and have considered switching my cats. Only problem being they won't touch it! Ira has stolen beef liver a few times and gobbled it up but that's it.

I've been doing some reading here and have decided to try and switch fully to a canned diet (they were on a dry cat kibble, Orijen, I thought it was good for them ) and try to start sneaking some cut up muscle meat into their canned. I recently bought a bunch of canned food to help with the positive association of the new cat that was brought into the house. I imagine it's not very good quality, Fancy Feast and the special Fancy Feast Medley.

Which canned food is the best if your feeding a solely canned food diet? I imagine it will take weeks to transition my first three cats as I've tried before with them. The new cat Nyx had liver and turkey leg meat last night and loved it.

Also how much canned food should they be eating? They range in weights from 4.5lbs to 20lbs.

And lastly taurine. I've read that it's very important for cats when feeding raw and comes from "blood rich" organs, specifically heart and liver. My dogs eat heart as muscle meat, so we often have a lot of turkey, beef, bison heart. Could the cats be eating heart as their muscle meat content as well?

I don't think I have quail or cornish hens available to me for bone content, would just chicken wings be enough? Currently my dogs eat chicken carcass, turkey wings (much too big for cats I imagine), necks etc. All of which I would assume are too big.

And lastly, how would you estimate the ideal adult weight of a cat to determine how much you should be feeding?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement