Rabbit meat........smell?? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-21-2010, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

Rabbit meat........smell??

Ok, since I'm new to raw feeding, I have a silly question. Should rabbit meat have a very strong, very distinct odor?

I ordered my first batch of rabbit as a test from this supplier, and it was wonderful. Smelled fresh, and no real odor that would turn my stomach. Everything went great, the kitties ate it all up.......loved it!

I just picked up 50 lbs of it, and when I went to open up one of the bags yesterday, the smell was just overwhelming! It smelled very strong. I don't know if it's a rotting smell, or if something was left in that shouldn't have been.

They exchanged it for me, so I had a new batch, from a complete different day. Went to open a bag this morning, and same smell! (Insert barf emoticon here!)

Since there is such a complete difference in smell between this batch, and my first test batch, I'm thinking either I didn't get what I asked for the first time, or something was left in that shouldn't have been this time.

Should rabbit meat have a strong odor, even with the head, and organs, left in the mix? I have one kitty who will eat anything you put in front of him, I gave him a bit of beef, he gobbled it down, and then I put down a bit of the rabbit for him, he sniffed it, laid next to it, and batted at it. He wouldn't eat it.

This puts me in a bit of a pickle! I have kitties with allergies, who were doing amazing on the test batch, and now all I have left to feed is some beef, which I will try. Mz. Diva (aka Patches), won't eat it, so I'm going to end up feeding her kibble. After yesterdays fiasco, I used up whatever little reserve I had in the freezer. I guess I'm going to have to keep extra stock on hand from now on, but that doesn't help me out now. Shipping meat to my house is way to expensive, and there is no other local supplier in my area.