Nature's Variety: Instinct Raw - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 09:42 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Nature's Variety: Instinct Raw

Hi everyone! I'm very new here. New to the forums. New to having a cat. And new to raw food diets.

I adopted Moose back in December of last year. I immediately switched him from the Royal Canin crap the SPCA had him eating, and switched over to Evo. Once my bag was done, (I had read more about cat nutrition) I decided to make the switch over to raw.

I originally had him on Pets Go Raw. 1/4lb a day, alternating through chicken, beef, and salmon each month. Moose is about 13lbs, and about a pound over weight. He is a year and a bit, and a rather sedentary cat (indoor only), excluding random burts of energy he will randomly get.

Well, long story short. I'm a student. Between my house fire I had, my hours being cut at work, and trying to afford my tuition, I am broker than broke and had to switch Moose's food to Instinct Raw. I need a low price point raw food. I just don't have the initial funds right now to buy my own grinder, nor do I have access to one, and between work and school, time is very precious too.

Anyways, does any one have any experience with this brand? I've found it to be drier? than the other brand. When I thaw NV:IR there is no meat liquid that comes off the pucks like PGR does. Is it ok to add water and mix it into the pucks? I kind of mash them up into a kind of slurry like texture. He still eats it just fine. Is there something other than water I should be mixing? Perhaps a bit of salmon oil?