Portions to older kittens on raw - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 02:49 AM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

Portions to older kittens on raw

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to raw, so please be patient with me...I've researched some, but most posts talk about young kittens and I don't want to overfeed or underfeed, so I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.

I'm feeding my kittens pieces of raw chicken the past few weeks and some commercial raw ground with about 25% of canned wet food to keep encouraging one pate lovin' kitten to gnaw, bite, and chew his food more. My other kitten looooves raw chicken with bones, especially necks, (chopped into about 1 inch chunks), but keeps asking for more. How much bone is too much? I know if they get too much bone content they'll get constipated and not enough will have the opposite effect. Do I keep feeding them til they are satisfied or should I get a scale and measure out 3 oz each just to make sure? I've been eyeballing their amounts, but I feel like they eat MORE on raw than they did on canned. Shouldn't they be eating less? Today kitten did go to the litter box twice for solid waste but it looked normal.

Notes: They are 7 & 8 months each, weigh also 7 & 8 lbs respectively. They are both moderately active; chase/run/play around during early mornings and at dusk, but sleep most of the day or look out the windows...I never had any cats or kittens before, so I can't really tell if that is active enough. Their energy isn't what it used to be when they were 3-4 months old. When do kitten's energy levels taper off?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 06:46 AM
Cat Addict

Kitten's energy levels taper at around 18 -24 months. Of course it depends on the cat, some can calm down as early as 12 months.