Getting my cat to try chicken necks? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-03-2014, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Getting my cat to try chicken necks?

Hi! I've been offering our cat raw chicken necks for a couple of months now, in the interest of keeping her teeth clean. She consistently sniffs at them and then leaves them alone.

I've tried a lot of different things in hopes of persuading her to try them -- making sure they're quite warm before giving them to her, switching her from always having kibble available to getting half a can of wet food twice a day, rubbing a little bit of her wet food on them, rubbing catnip on them, searing them just enough that they smell strongly like chicken (30 seconds on each side).

I'm a little concerned that with her training to leave our parrots alone (at this point, she won't even play with any toy with feathers on it), the chicken necks might smell like the birds and therefore "do not touch" to her? I think if that were true she probably wouldn't snarf down the Blue Buffalo chicken & turkey flavor so readily, or the freeze-dried chicken treats I give her after she's decided she's done playing "catch the fleece wand", but if anyone has any suggestions for other things I can try or other kinds of bones I can safely give her that she could effectively chew on, I'd very much appreciate them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-04-2014, 03:31 PM
Cat Addict

You're on the right track, but there's definitely still things you can try.

Going straight from pure kibble/wet food to whole chicken necks is like skipping addition and starting with long division. There's no foundation, so it makes no sense.