Raw food and using the microwave - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-04-2015, 02:46 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Raw food and using the microwave

I've been feeding raw for several months now, and it's always been a cumbersome process to reheat the food. I put aside meal portions in glass bowls in a separate freezer. They thaw for a day in the fridge before being thrown in a hotpot of water to warm up to acceptable temperature (a VERY narrow window for picky cats!) The whole ritual is a royal pain for both me and the cats.

Now I'm wondering... has anyone had success simply using the microwave? I do understand if you're not super careful it will cook the bones or meat. But I have an old-fashioned microwave with the little power knob that you can turn down to "low" or even "defrost." Does anyone have experience with just microwaving their raw food to warm it to "mouse" temperature?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-05-2015, 05:59 AM
Cat

My understanding of it was that it shouldn't be done because even defrosting you'll still start to cook some of the meat a little (most likely around the edges) and I've heard that removes some of the nutritional value.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-05-2015, 10:41 AM
Cat