raw diet newbie! no grinder - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-28-2015, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

raw diet newbie! no grinder

A week or so ago I started giving my 7mo boy some raw chicken thigh meat along with his usual Merrick cans and pumpkin puree. He had soft poo before but since the raw chicken thigh meat, his poop has firmed up very nicely.

Yesterday I got some fresh chicken livers and hearts, super gross!! I washed and froze them right away..very gross, I was gagging the whole time. Today I fed him the usual Merrick wet, pumpkin puree, raw chicken thigh, and I added a small amount of raw liver / heart. He pretty much finished all of the raw meats and left the Merrick wet and pumpkin puree in the bowl.

Questions

1) I am very new to raw diet. If I follow the 80/10/5/5, do I still need to add supplements?

2) I do not have a grinder and do not want to buy one. Can I just cut up my raw meat into smaller bite size chunks?

3) next step is to add bones. since I don't have a grinder, how should I prepare the bones? Are the bones inside chicken wings OK? If I don't know how to prepare the bones, do I need to mix in some calcium supplements?

4) I think I will always give him a scoop of wet food as I am not confident with the nutrition portions of my raw meats. Is this a good way to go? problem is he always picks out the raw and leaves the wet food in the bowl. I'm concerned that I might not be able to get the nutrition formula right. Any suggestions?

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-28-2015, 09:02 AM
Cat Addict