Cat throwing up some of the meat kinds - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2016, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Cat throwing up some of the meat kinds

I've been feeding my two cats raw food for six years now and have been very happy to see how they love their food and how they still appear to be kitties.

I feed 70% of commercial mix and 30% of home-made meaty bone chunks. I source all the food from the local pet food vendor (feedthis). The kinds of meat are: Turkey, Guinea Hen, and Duck ground all bone-in, complete meal without veg. I feed quails as bone-in chunks.

One of my cats started throwing up ground meat of four-legged ones. Four years ago, she started throwing up lamb. So I stopped it. Last year, she started throw up rabbit. I was forced to stop it because no matter the amount (e.g. 1 tbsp), she would throw it up 30 min after eating it.
She recently started throwing up duck.

I am afraid that my meat choice is getting narrower and narrower.

When a cat throw up a particular meat mix what would you recommend to try out, other than just stop feeding them?

In addition, do you have any tips on adding variety?

Anyone ever hand-chopped rabbits for kitties? I am at an inch verge into trying to chop some rabbits, see if she would throw that up as well...

Last edited by ccomaya; 01-10-2016 at 07:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 01:07 PM
Premier Cat

My cats will throw up beef and venison in a NY second! Never tried rabbit but it may work.

Cat owners' prayer: "Lord help me be the person my cat thinks I am"
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 04:36 PM
Cat Addict

Most of mine can eat pretty much anything but Lottie has problems - she's better with "real" food than manufactured but she has a mixture. I do find that she is better with meat I have bought and prepared myself rather than that produced by a company whether "packaged" or "raw".
Sponsored Links