Little bone pieces in hairballs? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-30-2016, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Little bone pieces in hairballs?

I guess this is more a curiosity question than anything else... and since I'm still relatively new to raw feeding, I'm hoping maybe someone here can shed some light on this.

I've been feeding my kitties grinds from hare today for about six months now. My Sky eats the rabbit exclusively due to allergies, and I get the grind with the organs and bones ground in. I've noticed that when she barfs up hairballs, there's always a ton of little bone pieces mixed in with the hair. No one else appears to be barfing up bone pieces, just her.

Should I worry about all the little bone pieces in her hairballs? I thought that the bone pieces were supposed to be more or less digested... and I've never seen any bone pieces in her poop (yes, I checked). It just seems a little bizarre... her hairballs are like 75% hair and 25% bone pieces.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-30-2016, 11:03 PM
Super Moderator

I have customer who had a similar problem with his dog. He was getting a grind from his breeder (or maybe from a place his breeder suggested...don't remember). In his case the dog was having digestive issues and they found he had a bunch of bone pieces stuck in his digestive tract. Gave him medication to help him pass the pieces. The guy said the dog's poop was "sandy" for days. So it seems it is something that happens with some animals. This guy's solution won't help you...he went to a very high quality kibble.

Maybe giving a hairball remedy will coat the bones pieces and help them pass. Or another possibility would be to add some fiber.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Holly, Misty & their friend, Jake, the dog.
Onyx, Callie May, Maggie & Kobi forever in my heart.