Questions about raw feeding - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Evi
Kitten

Questions about raw feeding

Hi guys, just wondering if some of you could help me out with some questions I have about feeding raw.

So, I've been researching this and wanting to do it for a few years now and finally I am in a position to start feeding my furry babies raw. I'm using the ground meat/bone/organ with necessary supplements method and I'm pretty much set to go, but here are my questions:

Do you rinse the organs or just grind them up the way they are? I already know to rinse the muscle meat off (chicken thighs in this case) to lessen surface bacteria, but I wasn't sure about the liver/hearts. Sorry if this is a super dumb question!

I've had fresh from the farm chicken hearts in my freezer since March 10th. I didn't expect it to take so long before I could use them, but this is the situation. Could I still possibly use them? They've been COMPLETELY frozen from the moment I got them and have never been opened.

And lastly, would it be okay to add raw apple cider vinegar to the food as I make it? Just a small amount? I've been wanting to include it in my fur folk's diet for a while because of the numerous benefits that I've read about (bladder health, flea/parasite repellent, stops tear stains). When I got my youngest guy his breeder gave me a supply of freeze-dried raw food and I remember apple cider vinegar being listed in the ingredients. He did really well on that food. I've tried putting a little raw ACV in their water but one guy in particular won't go for it so I was thinking maybe this would work better?

Sorry for all the text, just need some advice on this stuff before I go jumping into food making Hope it's okay for me to post already, I just joined today... so, hope I'm not breaking any rules!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 04:44 PM