A long and rambly post of introduction :) - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

A long and rambly post of introduction :)

Hi everyone! My name is Rach and I am a long time cat lover and long time lurker of this forum who finally decided to bite the bullet and register. I am a recent college graduate who lives in central IL and I'm in the process of packing and moving back home to help me save extra money from my not-so-hot paychecks. I have been catless since February 2009.

This is Callie, who was my baby. I got her when I was 5 years old and I can remember being so excited I couldn't even nap that day at kindergarten because I knew I was getting a kitty after school. My mom and I went to my aunt and uncle's house to see their barn cat's kittens who had just turned 8 weeks old. While I was trying to figure out which one I wanted, this little calico kitten crawled up my pant leg and fell asleep right in my lap. I told my mom I wanted "the one that picked me" and that was how Callie came home with us.

Callie was a cat of many quirks and was affectionate purely on her own terms - she was never a lap cat and only tolerated us petting her for a few minutes at a time. She was overweight for a lot of her life but still had tons of energy and loved to chase her toys around when not being a couch potato that followed the sunspots around from window to window. Whenever I would come home from school, the first thing I would do was call out her name to find her - it never failed that if she hadn't been waiting by the door for us to come home, she'd come running when she heard me. She used to sleep outside my bedroom door and would hiss and growl at any babysitters coming up the stairs to check on me. Callie and I shared a very special bond and I know that she loved her in her own strange way.