Hi....I'm a newbie and need some help please!! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-07-2011, 05:53 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Hi....I'm a newbie and need some help please!!

Hi All

It's my first post so please be patient!

We have two maine coons (both sisters) just reaching 6 years old. They have completely different personality traits, one of them Misty is really loving but scared of her own shadow whereas Missy is a bit of a loner and scared of nothing, they are both indoor cats but we have outdoor cat runs for them.

We now have a bit of a problem though and need your help.

We wanted to get our son a kitten, he's only 11 years old. We spoke with the maine coon breeder where we got our two from 6 years ago and she suggested we get a boy instead of a girl for fear another girl would cause a lot of conflict.

So we went with a beautiful black maine coon boy and brought him home saturday.

Our breeder told us that we need to break them all in slowly and gently, however she also said that when we walk in the door with the kitten in the carrier box, (we are always greeted when we walk in the door by our resident cats) then we were to place the carrier on the floor and let them sniff and look inside. We done this, and Missy, the really inquisitive one immediately began hissing and growling then ran away into the kitchen.

Misty, as I described her above, the more attention seeking one just stayed on the stairs staring.

We didn't want to frighten the kitten so we took him straight to his room and we are glad to say he has settled in so so well and is loving every minute of it.

However, there are bigger problems.

Missy now keeps hissing at Misty so we have constant war of attrition now between the 2 resident cats. The kittens arrival has put them out of synch.