New here and potetially new cat owner soon! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-01-2011, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

New here and potetially new cat owner soon!

Hey everyone!

I just joined this forum because I wanted to ask some new and long time cat owners what their experience with cats has been like.

For about the past month I've really been considering getting a cat. I've visited a shelter and played with the cats, but have still not made up my mind. I know I would LOVE the companionship and warmth of a cat and I would give it so much love, but I also want to make sure I will be able to take good care of it and that I won't have to completely change my lifestyle around.

Here's a little about me (and why I've been looking into getting a cat):
I graduated from college a year ago and have currently been working and living on my own. I met my boyfriend in college and we've been dating ever since (5 years) and are both in the same location now. However, I'm starting graduate school in the fall back in NJ, which is where I'm from. It's about an 8 hour drive from where my boyfriend will still be, so we'll be doing long distance for a while. I've always loved dogs and cats and thought now would be a good opportunity to adopt. For the remaining months before school, I'll have time to bond with my cat and get to know it and train it if I have to, and then once school starts, it'll be a good buddy to comfort me especially when I'm missing my boyfriend. I hope you guys don't take it as I'm just getting a cat to replace my boyfriend and once we're in the same place again, I'll ditch the cat. Definitely not the case! My boyfriend likes cats as well

Anyways, I had a bunchhhh of questions for people who already own cats. Like I said, I want to be prepared if I actually do decide to adopt.