Hello from Northern California! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 03:24 AM Thread Starter
Banned

Smile Hello from Northern California!

Hello CatForum Community,

My name is Jasmine, my sister Natasha has blessed my life for the past eight years:

I am a horse training intern and look forward to learning new way to work with horses in a positive, non-restrictive manner. My hobbies include hiking, jogging, walking, animal training, and researching the most up to date pet care information.

Natasha is the sister I don't have. She is someone who supports me, defends me, protects me, loves me, and listens to me. Might sound odd, yes! But Natasha is my everything, and that will never change. Natasha was diagnosed with mast cell cancer after having a splenectomy (her spleen was removed) in September of 2010. She was given an approximate prognosis of two months. And here she is, still pawing and meowing:

I hope to be able to spend more time with her... I act like everything is okay, but I know it won't be so, eventually. I am grateful (and proud) for how far she has come.

Natasha's life didn't start out as fairy-tale as it is now. We came across each other by a pure stroke of luck in September of 2003, when I was a wee eleven year old girl. It just so happened that we had recently moved to our new town (about seven days prior to me adopting me sister) when I stumbled upon the local animal shelter, which is right across from the recycling center (our original destination).

I cry too much telling the event in great detail. Long story short, I told my mom that I was just going to take a look inside the shelter to see what it was like compared to the shelter down in the Bay Area (where I "came from"). When I walked inside, I walked right past Natasha. She is the one who got my attention. I heard a little "brrrew!" from behind one of the chain link cages.

And I saw my girl.