havaheart trap help! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Cat

havaheart trap help!

Hello, I have been feeding a feral cat for about 7 months, all through the winter last year. I started feeding her after watching her for about 6 weeks, she was eating bird food! We made her a nice outside house, and she stayed around all winter, sometimes sitting outside with snow falling on her. I would like to bring her in this fall (probably about 4 - 5 weeks). I can now sit about 4 feet from her and talk to her. She will roll around on the ground as I talk. She also comes whenever I call her. What would be the best way to entice her into the trap? I feed her on a regular basis, so she is not overly hungry. We are in the process of making a nice room for her, losts on cat trees, toys, until my other cat begins to accept her and vice versa. Sometimes I get depressed, thinking it will be very hard to do, other times when I watch her come running it fills me with hope. Any advice will be appreciated. I so want this to work out!!!
Sally
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 08:56 PM
Kitten

I think it's wonderful that you want to help this kitty. I wonder if she is truly feral. It kind of sounds like she might not be because she will come to you (even if not all the way). If she's not completely feral, then taming her and bringing her inside will be easier. If she is truly feral, then trap-neuter-return would probably be the best thing you could do for kitty, besides continuing to provide food and shelter, of course. Alley Cat Allies has all kinds of great information on their website.

This page has information on how to trap your kitty. (It's more geared to trapping multiple cats in a colony, but the information should still be helpful to you.

Here's some about how to really tell the difference between a feral and a stray.