New here! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-11-2012, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

New here!

New here, just signed up seeking advice about a shelter kitty... talk soon!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-11-2012, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Husband thinks we got the wrong cat...

Hi all! I'm a newbie here, jumping in with my first cat question! I know it's been discussed before, but I'm looking for some perspective on dual issues.

My husband and I recently adopted a cat we named "Murph." He comes from the shelter, where he was given up after his family of 6 years decided he was too afraid of their dog to keep him any longer. Murph had only ever lived with that family, so as you can imagine, shelter life did not agree with him.

Well, we have a young daughter who loves cats and would love a cat to play with, but Murph has not emerged from underneath the bed in 2 weeks. He seems to barely eat or drink and as a result uses the litter box sparingly. He's gone on brief tours of the house, but "Base Camp One" as I call it, is in our daughter's room. His food, toys, litter box, bed, blankets and everything is in there. I have lined his little food area with her old clothing, so he associates her smell with good things.

Here's where it gets tricky. My husband is fed up with the cat. He wants to give him back. He says "We didn't get a cat that's just going to hide and not interact, we got him for [daughter] and he won't go near her, he needs to live with an older person or a single person who won't care if he hides all day, etc."