New Member. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Hello, I'm Writer, an New Member here. I have been looking for a friendly place to share my love of cats. The forums that I have found, since the closing of MSN groups, have been technique forums: breeding, discussing of breeds, ect. While I think those are essential to understanding (possibly) the nature of cats, I wanted somewhere were I could share my fur babies, also.

I'm 32, and, if you couldn't tell by my screenname, I'm a writer. More specifically, a novelist. I have had a couple of cats over the years.

When I was twelve, we added a domestic shorthair to our family. She was only eight months. Her owners had abused her, neglected her, and, then, ultimately abandoned her. They didnít have her spayed, and her kittens passed away inside of her. The owner wanted to put her down, and my mother came to an arrangement and ended up purchasing Sassy. She was so starved that she could only eat 1/2 can of Fancy Feast at a time. I feed her, encouraged her to eat. She is turning 21 this year, but I only see her 1 time a year since my family lives 6 hours away.

Then, I adopted Church, a very beautiful black cat, through the newspaper. He was like my shadow, forming a special bond with him. He would even sleep in bed with me with his head on my pillow, laying on his back with his side against me. When I delivered my daughter, his affections went to her. While he was not allowed the room with her (without supervision), he would lay against her closed door (and later the baby gate). My Church passed away three years ago. It was suddenly and very painful. Although I was married, Church was my best friend. He was someone I could talk to, someone who would not complain, and would listen unconditionally. Then, he would offer a reassuringly headbutt.