Cat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am a new member to this forum and I am hoping you guys can help.
I have a beautiful bombay cat named Spooky. My new husband has a cat named Pookie. Pookie is very gentle and very laid back, he is a tomcat. Spooky can be a wild child. Both are inside cats and both are male. Spooky is the younger of the two (8 years) and Pookie is 12. Spooky and I moved into Pookie's house. Spooky is being very mean to Pookie. Will not allow him into certain rooms of the house, to use the litter box, chases him away. Anytime I see Spooky being mean to Pookie I try to get him interested in something else. This usually works but when we are not at home I just know they are fighting - find clumps of fur from both cats. Spooky just wants Pookie to stay in his cat bed and not come out. My husband is ready to throw Spooky outside but he knows if he did I would divorce him and then hurt him. We did have two cat boxes but my husband decided this past weekend to take one of the boxes away. He found that Spooky was going in Pookies and figured all was alright. I told him not to but he did. Now both cats have to use just one and Spooky does not like this. I have been cleaning the litter 3 times a day. Anytime he sees Pookie heading to "his" catbox he chases him and corners him and screams at him. I told my husband to put the other litter box back but he wants me to try to find another solution. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
You could separate them and try to reintroduce slowly over the course of a week or so. In the end, though, I would recommend having three litterboxes. A good rule of thumb for any household is to have one litterbox for each cat and an extra one for good measure.

·
Registered
2,101 Posts