Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

I have a lot of experience in taking care of and interacting with cats and I absolutely love them, but I have never had a cat or kitten of my own. I am about to move out on my own for the first time, and am really excited about being able to rescue a feline or two from a shelter, and provide a loving home for them.

The question that is haunting me, is: Should I get a cat or kitten? Ideally I would like to adopt two kittens (litter mates), because I have never had my own before. I would love the experience of raising them, and being with them for the entirety of their lives. However, I feel like a horrible person for this, because it seems like kittens in are higher demand than adult cats. Adults need a loving home just as much as kittens do, and I hate to be one of the people who neglect them because of their age.

I am curious to know the thoughts of others on this subject. Should I be less selfish, and adopt an older cat who may have less of a chance of being adopted? Or, should I just adopt two kittens and be glad to be providing them with a loving, caring home?

Thank you for your time, and your input!

·
Super Moderator
26,352 Posts
I adopted my first cat, Cinderella, when she was 4 years old. I would say adopt an adult for the exact reasons you stated, because kittens will go like hotcakes. If there are two adults that are bonded, that's even better. I don't think bonded adults should ever be split up if it can be helped.

And it's not selfish to want kittens, either. I adopted the twins from a rescue organization. They'll be a year old next week and they are WILD, but adorable. :D

·
Registered
928 Posts
Hi! I think it's great that you're thinking of adopting! :)