Cat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so here's the scoop. I adopted Mistletoe in December from a shelter. I had been told that Mistletoe had had ringworm several months ago. Her coat was beautiful when I adopted her. In fact when I brought her to the derm office the first week for her ears, they didn't do a fungal culture because her coat looked so great. A few weeks later and what do I have but a huge ringworm lesion. And my cat only had two teeny tiny circular lesions on her ears. soooo she was put on griseofulvin for 72 days.

About a month after the griseofulvin, I thought that I had seen a new lesion on her hindlegs so I made an apt with the dermatologist again. (the dermatologist didn't treat the ringworm the first time, a local vet had treated it for me) He basically laughed at me because we couldn't find a lesion and told me I was a worry wart vet student. But he took a fungal culture for me using the toothbrush technique. Well the fungal culture came back negative. He called me 1.5 weeks ago.

But the problem is that on her ear, she has a rectangular lesion that has the characteristics of her true ringworm lesions that she had before except that it's not circular. Now I've adopted a new kitten and I'm scared of spreading ringworm to her. I also don't want to drive 45 minutes to the dermatologist for him to laugh at me again. I'm going to have him as a professor next semester so the least embarassment the best.

So basically I'm looking for advice on whether I should just not worry about this possible lesion, find another local vet(I didn't like the original one and the derm visits are free for me as a vet student.) or go back and risk possible embarrassment with the dermatologist. Ack!

I forgot to add that the kitten is currently separated from my cat for slow intros.

·
Registered
10,235 Posts