Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 8 month old cat, he has been housetrained for around 3 months.

In the last week he has begun to poo in in the house, at the moment it seems to be in one particular spot on a carpet. So i closed of the area to him, and he has now done it again in a different spot.

There has not been any significant changes to the household or his routine and he gets a LOT of attention.
I cant understand why he is doing it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Col

·
Registered
654 Posts
unfortunatly I'm not really an expert on cats I'm learning from this site, one thing I have learned as some cats prefer to pee in one litter box and poo in another if you only have one litter box this maybe the problem but as I said I'm just learning about cat behaviour myself

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thnx for replying Madmissie,

My cat Micky has been going outside to relieve himself instead of a litter box for around 3 months now. He lets us know when he wants to go outside and we even put him out on regular occasions so he has ample oppertunity to relieve himself!

It is really starting to bug me, I am open to ANY suggestion :)

Regards

Col

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi,

The first thing I'd look into is an aversion to something to do with the litterbox itself. You say that nothing major has changed in the house. did you change litter, or box placement? Did you add liners, or add/remove lids to the box or boxes? That kind of thing can give a good clue as to why he's begun to reject the box outright.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thnx for replying guys, one thing that i need to point out is that our cat does not have a litter box, he goes outside to go to the toilet, so although the litter box ideas are very good it does not apply to my sittuation.