Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whenever I bring Cosette home, I'll be putting her in the Pet Taxi that I bought, so that she doesn't get hurt (plus, I don't want to use some random cardboard box that they will probably supply).

Should I put one of my shirts in there, so that even while she's in there, she can adapt to my smell?

I'm pretty new to traveling with cats, so.. :eek:nekitty can anyone shed a little light on this subject? I'd appreciate it tons!

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Sounds like a good idea.
Though I kinda wonder if it would be even better to put something in there of her current environment, as that might calm her more. Being in a strange carrier, with strange smells coming from out outside AND inside might bombard her with too much stress. Something already familiar would probably reduce her anxiety and get her used to the new stuff more smoothly.

If the place you're getting her from will give you any sort of small blanket, or even a toy that she already uses a lot, that would be great.

·
Registered
328 Posts
A lot of her comfort level will depend on her history...our two were from a rescue group, and they were carted off in cat carriers to adoption events at Petco every weekend. We were amazed at how completely calm they were getting into the carrier and on the 30 minute car ride to our apartment. They were super used to the car ride process. But then again, they had each other, so that probably made a difference. And since then, Lily has begun to meow pitifully during car rides. (Then again, she meows pitifully every time she doesn't like something...being picked up, nail trimming...etc) I agree with trying to get a toy or a blanket from her original environment, because that smell would be comforting to her.

When we picked our kittens up, we put a towel in there so it would be more comfortable. I guess it must have had our scents on it, but I honestly didn't even think of that, lol!

·