Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
518 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Built a outdoor catwalk & cats won’t go thru door

Hi I’m new here.

I spent the last two weekends building a catwalk to a future habitat but the cats are too afraid to go use it. I had to build the catwalk out a second story window across a patio cover, because I didn’t have a better window to exit and I did not want to cut a hole through the wall.

The only window available was already being used by a cooler and fortunately there was just enough space to build an offset out and around the cooler.

Anyway I've tried coaxing them out with treats, toys and even tried pushing them out, but they just will not go. I leave the door flap open during the day but i have to close it at night because of mosqutios. What am I doing wrong?

·
Premium Member
1,691 Posts
I am no expert, but my instinct says they are nervous about being exposed or about having no obvious places to hide if they walk out and something startles them. I would use a cloth or tarp to create a cover or a tunnel-effect near the window exit, and maybe start out with only allowing access to a short length of the whole cat walk, until they are comfortable with venturing out of the first part.

Our kitty is now allowed out on our secure deck, via doors propped open, but every once a while before it was permitted she would sneak out. At those times, she was so nervous that she skulked right along the length of the wall, and would hide under the covered grill if a noise bothered her. She is more confident now, but she still ducks for cover under the patio chairs or the grill if anything startles her. Your kitties would probably be happier if they could see and gauge areas of cover to use for safety...

Fran

P.S. Oh, and welcome to the Cat Forum! :) That cat walk looks amazing, I hope you post pictures when your gang starts using it!

·
Registered
518 Posts
Discussion Starter #3