Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Miss M was recently spayed. Now she's calling. Has anyone experienced this? The vet assured me she was not in heat and that we had effectively spayed prior to the first heat cycle.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Are you sure she's doing a mating call at all? That is very odd if you ask me, especially since you mention that she was never in heat beforehand.

What age is she now and when did you get her, is it possible that she was in heat before you got her?

Otherwise, I suppose it's possible that the vet didn't remove everything?

·
Registered
67 Posts
I'm not an expert nor any close to that, but I've just did a very basic search on google and I got from it is that: it either isn't calling or your vet didn't remove everything and she's going through heat.

Try grabbing her scruff and seeing if she goes into the mating position (lordosis)?

·
Premium Member
18,382 Posts
Dave_ph has a cat that had supposedly been spayed before he got her and she kept going into heat. The vet finally decided to do an exploratory and found some tissue (ovarian, I assume) that had been left behind. I'm fuzzy on the details, but I seem to remember it was a dangerous surgery because it needed to be done while she was in heat so it would be easier to identify the tissue. I'm sure Dave can provide more details and correct whatever I've mangled up. Anyway...it's definitely a possibility...

·
Registered
67 Posts
I'll call the vet in the morning. She's added presenting to the dog to her repertoire so there's no doubt she's calling.
Hope everything goes well with her!

Furthermore, I might be overreacting (concerned for you and your kitty, that is), but this is the vet that made her go through several days without food, yes? If it were me, I'd go for a second opinion on this.

·
Registered
3,164 Posts
is the vet that made her go through several days without food, yes? If it were me, I'd go for a second opinion on this.