Cat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
after reading in the forum about how bad just dry food can be for a cat, I have decided to once again try wet food for my crew. I have tried the better quality can food but they just love the special kitty I get at walmart for 27 cents a package. They turn their nose up at chicken soup wet first 5 ingredients are: chicken, salmon,chicken liver,turkey, and duck. This is a pate style. Special kitty's first 5 are: sufficient water for processing, chicken, meat by-products,wheat glutten, natural flavors. This is in a chunk style with gravy. They gobble this up. My question is: is there a better quality wet food out there in chunk style and also is a poor quality wet food better than no wet food at all? thanks in advance for any help in this matter.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Hi Bug, I am not really an expert when it comes to food and nutrition. I kow we have some members who can answer your questions better.

I am going to move this into the Health and Nutrition section for you, you will get better responses there.

:D

·
Registered
10,235 Posts
I think lower quality wet food would be somewhat better than dry food in some ways but I'm not sure there. No doubt about it for them getting more liquids into their body though. As for chunk style food that is higher quality, most cats love Nutro Natural pouches with tons of gravy. Innova is like pate style but my cats love it so much. Solid Gold also offers tuna chunks too. Good luck with finding one they like :!:

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Nutro in the pink 3-oz can and pouches are chunks. You can get it at Petsmart. Active Life is also chunks. It will say on the can, "Ground" if it's the pate-mush kind, or something like "nuggets" "shreds" or "chunks".

I've found that a lot of cats don't like the Chicken Soup canned. Mine aren't too thrilled with it. It's kind of rubbery and dry, cats seem to prefer things juicier.