Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My male cat Gabriel just ate one of those strings used to tie up presents. I was trying to grab him to pull it out of his mouth but he kept running away and swallowing more of it. Should I be concerned? I don't want him to suffer from this.

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
I'm not really experienced with cats but I would keep an eye on his eating and pooping to make sure nothing gets 'tied' up in there.

·
Registered
4,451 Posts
I'm not sure where you're located, but if it's currently Monday in your neck of the woods, I would give the vet a call and ask whether or not you should bring him in. If it's currently Sunday, then I would keep a close eye on Gabriel today and call the vet tomorrow. Call the vet (or EC) today if you see any negative signs, including vomiting, attempting to vomit, straining to poop, diarrhea, loss of appetite, lethargy or any behavioral changes. You can also try giving Gabriel some petroleum jelly (or hairball cream)...put it on his paws and have him lick it off. I hope nothing serious comes of his having eaten the string.

·
Banned
952 Posts
If he poops and you see the string coming out, DO NOT PULL IT! Call your vet.
Yeah, that!

Definitely watch for digestive upsets - vomiting, no pooping, loss of appetite - and lethargy and if you see any of them, bring him in to the vet and have them do an x-ray ASAP.

If the string causes problems, surgery can fix it - however, the sooner the problem is corrected, the better for your kitty.

How long was the string?

AC

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It was pretty long I think. But there have been no problems so far... knock on wood. But Gabriel has been eating normally and acting normally too.

·
Premium Member
2,855 Posts