Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the whole having a cat around. In fact I've never actually touched a cat until Rocco came to live with us. I have a lot of questions so I'm going to explain and hopefully someone will still be awake at the end of my story.

He's seventeen weeks now. I got him from a friend of a friend. When I heard that she was complaining about this little guy and saying he was hard work, and that she was going to send him to a shelter because she couldn't rehome him, I had to go and see him. When I got there he was sitting off on his own in the corner playing with a piece of paper. Apparently he had torn wallpaper off a wall. The woman said that through her 20 years of breeding that he had been the worse. She said he was born not breathing, and he was the smallest of the bunch. When she went to pick him up he started scratching and biting her, but when she placed him on my knee he calmed down after a few minutes. I don't know what came over me but I said I would take him. (I've never had a desire to have a cat before) I took him that night and he was a little cautious around me.

He slept the first night at the top of the stairs just outside my bedroom door. He was up at 4am tugging at the bed sheet, but he didn't go on the bed. Luckily I work from home so I was around him all day. He just sat under my kitchen table and would only come out when I was feeding him. That night he slept at my bedroom door. I didn't see any bad behavior so I didn't know what the woman was talking about. As the nights went on he got closer and closer to the bed. Until he was sleeping on the bottom of it. During the day he would start wandering around and even let me pet him.