Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been feeding Nutro Max dry food to my cat ever since she was 3 months old. She is now 2 and a half years old. Earlier, she would also eat the Nutro Max wet food as well. But as she grew older, she became extremely picky and would not eat anything other than Nutro Max dry food. I had to throw out all my cat treats because she would just sniff it and not eat it. Even around the house, she will smell human foods and not try to eat. She just sticks to her Nutro Max.

My problem now is that Nutro Max is going to discontinue manufacturing its primary type of dry food. Nutro Max is instead marketing its Complete Care brand. I bought a small bag and have unsuccessfully tried to get my cat to eat it. She won't. I have mixed the new food with her old food but she won't eat the new food. I have also tried just giving her the new food without the old food and she also won't eat it. I am very worried about this because once pet stores stop selling this particular kind of Nutro Max, my cat might stop eating altogether!

What can I do to ease my cat into trying new foods? I am being very serious - she would rather go on a hunger strike than try to eat something new. Her appetite has diminished recently and she looks like she has already lost a few ounces because of the stress of me putting something new in her food bowl.

PLEASE HELP!!! Thanks!!!

·
Registered
381 Posts
I'd give her a little spoon full of Turkey baby food and see if she likes that. I'd then mix a little bit in with the new food.
I know my cat goes berserk over baby food treats and will eat a pill right off the spoon if it has been dunked in turkey.

I don't know if this is good advise or not. I just know what makes my kitty go nuts when it comes to food.

Best of luck!

·
Registered
10,235 Posts