Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am sure this topic has been discussed many time before and in many places, but I always hope someone has a magic answer to make this process easy.

I have been using clumping, clay based litter, for many years—actually, it' the only litter I have ever used. But, now I want to change. The dust problem is just horrible and I have finally gotten so sick of it that I am willing to go through heck for a few days/weeks to get it done.

I want to use a litter that I toss out after use, and one with no dust.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to make the process of changing easier? And, can anyone suggest a litter that the cats are less likely to reject yet is not a dusty clay based litter?

I am very concerned that I am going to have three cats urinating and pooping all over the house when this process starts, but I have to stick to the change.

Thanks,
Billy.

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
I'm lucky in that so far I can change litter and Tuffy never gives any hint that it disturbs him - I just changed to Yesterdays News because I got sick of clumping litter being tracked all over the house. He seem to like it too.

I wish you the best of luck - sorry I don't have any advice, I'm fairly new to being a cat mommy.

·
Registered
709 Posts
When we switched from clay we first started by mixing the new litter with the clay. Slowly reducing the amt of clay.

Now we use a mixture of Swheat Scoop & Clump N Flush. Ultimate litter combo! Totally flushable and clumping, no dust.

·
Registered
4,451 Posts