Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me tell you about myself... I am a college student. I live with three other guys on campus right now. This September we will be moving to a 4 bdrm house off campus. With the space we'll have, we are considering adding a cat to our house. In starting to research cats in general there seems to be a lot to decide; breed, breeder or shelter, kitten or adult, etc.

I'd be looking for an exclusivly house cat. Affectionate lap cat but also playful/active. I'm kind of partial to shorter haired cats. I think it makes them look sleeker and 'sportier.' Short hairs usually mean less and easier grooming as well.

Also, I would like to know costs involved. Initial purchase, toys, necessities and vet costs as well as monthly costs if possible. I have owned several pets (dog, ferrets, snake) in the past so I'm not a complete newb when it comes to pets. Just want to know as much as I can so that we can find a cat that fits us, but also so we can give the best home to the cat as possible.

If you can help me out with any/all of these topics, please post. Your help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
Hi tarpshack,

When searching for a cat, I highly recommend visiting http://www.petfinder.com. There are thousands of animals listed on that site and all of them are looking for homes. I think you'll find that every healthy cat is active and playful. Not all cats are lapcats, so see if you can spend some time playing with the cats before you adopt one.

http://www.breedlist.com/breed.html will give you a list of all breeds and their traits and even links to breeders websites. If you find a breed you like, check into local rescues. You may find a purebred in need of a home.