Cat Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Kitty has a peeing problem. I am not asking for advice about the peeing issues. We are to the choice of giving up said cat or last ditch efforts like caging said cat constantly so she can always be supervised. Cat would be in a big dog kennel when we are gone and unless she was on someones lap/eating/ being played with.

Has anyone done this? Is this worse than giving cat away to a no kill shelter?

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
I would feel sorry for the cat being kept locked up all the time -I don't think a cat would be very happy with that.. but I'm fairly new to cats so maybe someone else will have some opinions for you. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
I've been crating Miu overnight for the past month or so. My reason is for her 'poop outside the box' problem. She took to it like it was nothing. I crate her from 11:30pm to about 6:45am. She poops once a day and I find the poop there in the morning so she comes out after breakfast.

It's not sorry at all. I feed all her in there and she sleeps in there overnight. She knows the routine and happily goes into the bed by herself to settle down after I feed her bedtime snack shortly before bed. It's her safe place and a place she knows is completely hers.

Whenever I feed her, I close the door if it's not overnight, I open the door when she's done. She's a slow eater so closing the door gives her a sense of security. The other cat Jack and Rocky the dog won't be able to get at her meal so she can take her time calmly eating.

Just get the biggest kennel possible so you can fit a litterbox and bed in there comfortably. I use a 48" dog kennel.

Here's a pic of her lounging inside. She's taking a look at the other cat and she's not even attempting to bolt for the open door, just relaxing. The bed is inside her carrier to keep it clean and the cardboard is there to prevent spray accidents from the litterbox.

·
Registered
3,194 Posts