Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here is the issue I'm running into with my kitten Bandit.

Over this summer I was all over Europe for a singing tour with my chorus. I had to leave him with a friend for 2 1/2 months, which was traumatizing for me, so I can't imagine what it must have been like for him.

Since then, we moved across town, to a new apartment with a new roommate and her cat (about 1.5-2 years old)

Bandit has become very distant, doesn't sit with me, won't sleep with me, but will sleep with the roommate, doesn't hang out in the same room as me, barely lets me touch him.

Are there steps I can take to re-bond with my cat? This whole situation makes me so sad :sad: I just feel so dejected!

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Hopefully he is just trying to be near the new cat not near your room mate... As a cat newbie I don't have any constructive advice other than keep persevering and if all else fails spray your friends room in citrus? Lol and cover yourself in catnip! X

Good luck with your situation! X

·
Registered
804 Posts
Some cats seem to hold a grudge... if I've been away for a few days, or even the better part of a day, my cat Tugs will ignore me until he feels I've been properly punished... His moods are usually gone by the next day, though. Maybe try increasing one-on-one time with him and including a lot of positive reinforcement (petting, treats, talking to him in a happy voice) and play time? You could shut him in the bedroom with you at night, though this may just make him scratch or yowl to get out. I hope things improve for you soon, though. It's very hurtful when Tugs is mad at me and that doesn't even last very long...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
He used to cuddle a lot, but not so much now... guess when he was a baby baby he wanted more snuggles and now he's more preteenish.