Cat Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a stuffed toy with a supply/tube ofcatnip at Petsmart. The toy has a velcro opening that you put the catnip in. I don't think the whole thing cost $6.00

It has had no effect on Toby. I do know that some cats are nor affected by catnip, but I was wondering if this inexpensive stuff might be old and dried out, and that some premium stiff elsewhere might still work?

·
Registered
528 Posts
I have wondered the same thing. I'm not an expert but it all depends on how good the cat nip is. It depends on quality, freshness, age, the process the cat nip goes thru, additives, preservatives, and the cat. I suppose some cats will be affected by some catnip and not others. I guess it's a guessing game to find the right one.

Kathy

·
Premium Member
18,372 Posts
Yes, catnip quality and freshness does matter. Yeowww! catnip is awesome stuff....get him a banana!

·
Registered
3,985 Posts
Some brands have additives kitty doesn't need. I try to get mine from farmers markets,home grown is the best. I had a neighbor who grew it in her garden! The fresher the better, and AVOID brands that say something like 'send your cat on a trip to 7th heaven' on the label!

·
Registered
176 Posts
Also, I've read that toys, or such that have catnip LEAVES are better than those which may have just stems.

I'd like to start growing my own. :) Do they require a lot of sunlight? I'd like to put mine in my bathroom (where the cats won't have access).

Anybody have experience with growing their own?

·
Registered
714 Posts
watch out for the cheap catnip that comes with toys...I once bought a cardboard scratcher and the catnip that came with it was moldy:???:

·
Registered
245 Posts
It's true that some cats don't react to catnip. Moxie goes crazy for the stuff, but Sassy could care less.