Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone from California!
I am a dog person and have always been. Dog psychology, behavior and nutrition was stuff i studied for fun and one day I saw a documentary on wild cats of Africa. I was amazed by how incredible cats were in general so I picked up some books on cats. And 2 weeks ago I got a kitten. She's currently almost 10 weeks old. I've been rereading some books from the library like Your
Cat by Elizabeth M Hodgkins, Twisted Whiskers and Think Like a Cat by Pam Johnson Bennett. I have so many questions regarding kittens and hopefully I'll get a lot of answers here. I will make separate posts concerning these issues. My cat is apparently female, but I'll have the vet double check that and she doesn't have a name yet.

Here are some pictures of her:

Sleeping

"What's that in your hand"

·
Registered
2,746 Posts
Awwwww, she is beautiful!!!! And yeah for black cats! Every shelter I have seen lately has been full of black cats, and no one even looks at them :( they just bypass them and go straight to the calicos and tiger kitties. She is beautiful!!! There are lots of good people here to help you or just enjoy listening to your cute stories about your precious new baby. I'm guessing you are still thinking of names?

·
Banned
422 Posts
If I happen to adopt an all-black female, I plan on calling her Jenny Linsky after one of the cat from the "Cat Club" books by Esther Averill. If it's a male, I'll call him Blackington from the book "Too Too Many." I think all-blacks are beautiful.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Thanks for the warm welcomes everyone! Say hi to Marshall for me :)
I have so many questions I'll ask them very very soon!

·
Registered
728 Posts
Welcome, very cute kitty! What was the documentary called that you watched? I'm always up for a good docu, if I haven't seen it already :)

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #16