Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, ive been reading all the wonderful advice on the site and as my cats and i are moving to our own place in a few weeks, i decided that i can then take charge of an effective wieght loss program for both of them, they both wiegh in over 15 lbs and look hugely fat. they have been on science diet light for an incredibly long time, they each get 1/2 cup once a day.
anyway, im planning on switching them to a high quality wet diet such as wellness or other, but i need some advice.
1. how much should i feed them?
2. should i put them on a timed feeding regiment? im a college student so i don't have the most regular of schedules, but for my furbabies, i'll try my best.
3. how is the best way to transition them over to wet food?

·
Banned
1,014 Posts
I'd start off with 1/2 of a 13 oz can per day per cat. You will need to feed timed meals, normally about 2-3 per day. You can't leave wet food out for more than 1/2 hour. As for switching over, you can try introducing the wet food to the cat in increasing quantities over a week-long period. Here are some tips for picky eaters.
http://www.catforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=4424&highlight=wet

Just remember not mix the dry food with the wet (except in meatball form) because the bacteria on the surface of dry food multiplies very quickly in a moist environment.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
right now the only excersise they get is the occasional dash to and from the food and litter area to my bedroom, so they do climb up the stairs, but overall, both my kittys lead a pretty sedentary life. i bought some cat toys at the supermarket to try and play with them, but any play suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Banned
1,014 Posts
Here's an article on play therapy. Maybe there are some helpful suggestions.
http://www.littlebigcat.com/index.php?action=library&act=show&item=012