Cat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am writing because I am at a loss for how to cope with a cat that has IBD. My Maggie has been ill for the past two weeks. She has been in and out of the vet because of anorexia, vomiting, and diarrhea. My vet has her on flagyl, baytril, pregnisone, an antiacid, and an appetite stimulant because she went two days without eating a thing. We started with those meds along with a diet change to Science Diet i/d because she always ate the Science Diet Maintenance and she snubbed her nose and another hypoallergenic food he wanted her to eat. When the i/d didn't work (vomiting from that) he put her on baby food to see if she could keep that down. She did well with it. He wanted to try her on the basic Fancy Feast turkey, chicken, or beef flavors only. She did GREAT for 72 hours on it. No vomiting, no diarrhea (her stool began to harden and it was formed for the first time in a while). Since I am new to the can food diet I haven't been sure on long you are supposed to leave wet food out I only gave her 1.5oz of wet food this morning and then was gone from 9:00am until 3:00pm today. When I got home I fed her and within an hour she had thrown up. Could it be possible that she was so hungry and ate it too quickly and that caused her to throw up? OR Are we back to square one? Is it normal for IBD cats to still throw up even now and then? I am so new to all of this and am trying to find out as much as I can about the beginning stages and process on how to find the right balance for her. In a long story, should I be discouraged when she throws up even though she's hasn't in several days? Should I consider it as setback or do I not worry because episodes can happen? Any and all information about IBD and your experiences are appreciated. I am a fighter and will fight for her as long as she has quality of life, but after two weeks of this and vomit this afternoon I can't help but be frustrated