Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been feeding a female feral cat for 7 months now (Dec to Jun) and have yet to see her pregnant. She looks to be around 2 years old. I would think that she would have gotten pregnant by now since she is friendly with a male feral. I can take her to the Humane Society to have her spayed but wonder if she maybe is infertile and spaying would be unnecessary. Thank you and regards.

Diane

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
She is definitely feral. When I first saw her in Dec (which in Ottawa, Canada, the temperature was way below zero), if she even got a glimpse of me in the window she would take off. I started putting food under a tree about 40 feet from house and she would eat it. It took many months but I now have her coming to me when I call her for food and can even pick her up. We have 3 cats (2 males and 1 female) and she is very afraid of them, especially the female. We would like to bring her into the house but our cats will not tolerate her. If I was to take her to be spayed, would the vet be able to tell if she has already been spayed?

·
Registered
836 Posts
She is definitely feral. When I first saw her in Dec (which in Ottawa, Canada, the temperature was way below zero), if she even got a glimpse of me in the window she would take off. I started putting food under a tree about 40 feet from house and she would eat it. It took many months but I now have her coming to me when I call her for food and can even pick her up. We have 3 cats (2 males and 1 female) and she is very afraid of them, especially the female. We would like to bring her into the house but our cats will not tolerate her. If I was to take her to be spayed, would the vet be able to tell if she has already been spayed?