Cat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last year, after a rash of movies centered around Japanese language and culture were released (Kill Bill 1&2, Last Samurai, Lost in Translation and others) I realized I couldn't get enough of the Japanese language...such beautiful sounds! As a graduate student, I don't have hardly any time to do "fun" things for myself, but I bought a set of "Learn Japanese in Your Car" cds that I can play driving around, on the stereo or on my PC. With every word or phrase I learn, I get so excited. My whole life, I've been awed and inspired by eastern culture and have applied much of it to my own life. Learning Japanese is just one more step.

Do any of you know of any tools or materials I could use in learning Japanese? How about Japanese movies that you like? (We have Spirited Away and Millenium Actress, but that's it. And not really into much anime just by ignorance) The ideal thing would be to know someone who speaks the language fluently and to talk to them as often as possible, but I just don't have that opportunity right now. :(

What foreign languages do you all speak??

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
Czech, English. And I understand Slovakian (I can read a book, watch a movie...). Slovakian is very close to Czech. We understand them and they understand us. I can't speak Slovakian.

I also studied Spanish for 4 years, Italian for 1 year and German for 2 years. :) I always enjoyed studying other languages. It's so much fun!

·
Registered
282 Posts
I am fluent in English and French. My Italian, Japanese and Catalan (the language of Barcelona) are good enough to ask for directions or order food in restaurants. I took a year and a half of ancient Greek in college and I am currently studying (very informally) Hebrew.

·
Registered
3,331 Posts