Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you foster or volunteer? Lets see your past and present fosters or favorite cats at the shelters!

·
Registered
518 Posts
You've had lots! I just started fostering, I have two right now, Payton and Bonney.

Payton

Bonney

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited by Moderator)
Payton is beautiful!! Fostering is fun, I grew up in rescue and those photos are just from the last year. In total I've fostered close to 100 cats in the past 9 years and even more dogs. I'm only 22 so I've been fostering since I was 13 years old. I've actually decided to stop for a few months and possibly a year with fostering because after almost a decade I need a break! The best part is when they go to their new homes. I hope your two fosters get adopted soon! I started as high school service hours but it became a passion. What made you want to foster?

·
Registered
518 Posts
I got started when I came across a craigslist post for a partially paralyzed kitten. I wanted to help but knew I couldn't afford the extensive vet bills, so I contacted a few rescue groups. One got back to me and said they would pay the bills if I could foster, but someone else ended up getting the kitten before me. The rescue kept in contact with me and said they were desperate for fosters, so I ended up taking one, then another.

I thought I would really want to keep them, but when I see the listings of cats in boarding waiting for fosters and cats in shelters waiting for slots in boarding, it motivates me to find them homes. There are a couple more I would really like to foster after these.

Eta, Payton is gorgeous but she bites me alot! I think she's just playful, she's only 1 y/o, but I've never had a biter before.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #5