Cat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been trying to find wet-food that my cats (2.5yrs and 7 months) will reliably eat.

I thought I'd scored when they started loving Blue Buffalo grain free chicken, salmon, turkey, and tuna varieties ( I am not against feeding high quality fish-my choice). They would eat until their bowls were clean. I got excited, and stocked up!

Then a few weeks later...nope, not touching that anymore!

So, back to the drawing board and they discovered a love of Blue's signatures (not grain free, but still Blue, so I felt ok with it)..again, three diff varieties..licked the bowls clean, begged for more..i get excited, stock up, and then a few weeks later....nope!

Recently did the same with Wellness. LOVED the chicken/herring, LOVED chicken, LOVED beef/chicken etc etc. I stocked up, went well for a bit then...nope!

AAAAAAAAAACK!

I'm a student, I cannot afford to keep doing this. Nor can I afford to keep throwing out all the food that goes uneaten! I've tried mixing a bit of cheap junkfood whiskas wet into their dishes with the good stuff to try and excite them (which used to go over great), nothing.

I thought maybe it was a warm v cold thing-nope.

help!

·
Super Moderator
26,670 Posts
Recently when my girls have acted finicky, I've sprinkled a few kibbles on top of their wet food. Once they start eating, they keep on until it's finished.

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
frustrating!

geez. that is very frustrating. i've read that sometimes we humans "create" finicky eaters because we feed them the same thing all the time. then when we try to switch, they won't eat the new stuff. sounds like you're having the OPPOSITE reaction from your cats. maybe instead of giving them NO variety, you gave them too MUCH variety? so, now maybe they figure if they don't have something new every few weeks, they're going to boycott the stuff. i dunno. i'm grasping at straws here.