Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How much should a cat weigh?

Mammers looks absolutely massive (partly because of his longer fur), and it looks like he has quite the tummy/gut on him. He doesn't overeat, though, and is full of energy. My family and boyfriend always make fun of how "fat" he is, and so I put him on the scale, and it looked like he was 12lbs. For comparison, I weighed our other cats. Bo and Sushi both weighed around 11/12lbs, and Skeezer weighed about 9 (she's smaller/more delicate than the others, always has been).

Mammers is about a year old and while he may grow a bit more, he's been about this size for quite a while. He started off very sick and starving, and slowly got to be pretty big looking!

I used to feed him an all-dry diet with occasional wet food (I'm a student, and wet food is a bit more expensive), but I've been including much more wet food lately as he likes it more and I want to make sure it isn't his food that gives him the, uh, illusion of fatness (?).

I leave some dry food in his dish and give him a half-can or so of wet food a day (I've read that if you're on an all-wet diet, it should be a whole can.....so I've halved that and give him some dry food). He's not a picky eater, and he tends to mow down the wet food and leave the dry alone for a while, but I don't give him too much at a time so he's not chomping through a day's worth at a time or anything. He has no problem running around like a fool, and doesn't appear to be out of shape.

Thoughts? I don't want my cat to be tubbo, nor have some freakish illusion of tubness :lol: I have no idea why he looks fat compared to the cats that weigh the same as him.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
I've been wondering the same thing. I emailed the breeder regulary about our kittens weight and she replied to me last time "how do you get your cats to grow so fast?". That made me think I'm doing something wrong.