Cat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time at these forums, looks pretty good. Anyhow down to the real deal. My cat got into a fight with another cat about a couple days ago and was beat up pretty good I'm sorry to say. He now has wounds on the side of his face and on his head. The side of his face is not looking too bad, however, the top of his head keeps draining pus. Its been going on for about 3 days, and we keep putting peroxide, neosporin, and even mecurechrome on the wound but it doesn't seem to heal as well as it should be. My question is, should I keep going on with the antiseptics and how long, if anything, should the draining process take? I want to take him to the vet (maybe so he can get some stitches perhaps), but my mom says that it is not necessary. Its a pretty medium sized area on his head, but it still worries me.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I think that you should take him to the vet ASAP. It may not seem that bad to you, but since you mentioned the gashes and the pus, there could be a good chance of infection soon to set in... not to mention what the other cat (i think it was a cat) could have possibly passed to him, should it have any viruses itself.. Good luck, let us know what happens!

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Take the cat to the vet and stop trying to treat him at home. None of the things you're doing are helping! Peroxide can actually inhibit healing, and mercurochrome is toxic.

He needs antibiotics and proper medical treatment.

Cheers,
Dr. Jean

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4