Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone advise me. My siamese, Hartley (7 years old) had a U & E blood test prior to anaesthetic for tooth extraction. He has a raised creatinine which means he has already lost 70% of his kidney function. My husband actually took him to the vet, and I guess he tried to play it down to spare my feelings. BUT, I am an Intensive Care Nurse, so knew it was not good. I have looked up info on the internet and it seems there is no hope and I am going to loose my beautiful, blue eyed boy. I have only had him and his sister for two years as they were rescued. I really just can't bare it. I look at him and just cry. I thought that this forum might be the only place where people would understand. I don't want to watch him get so ill. He is okay at the moment, eating and drinking but he is loosing weight and has some of the other symptoms of chronic renal failure. Has any one else been through this? or have any idea how I can prolong a good quality of life?

Thank you.

·
Registered
821 Posts
I don't know anything about chronic renal failure...but I just want you to know that I totally feel for you. I have a Siamese cat as well, and I love him to death. I am so sorry that you have to go through this. I am sure lots of people on this forum can provide helpful information.

·
Premium Member
28,615 Posts
Julie, I had a very much loved 16 year old cat put to sleep because of renal failure. It stated with convulsions, so the vet thought he had walked through a yard that had been treated for weeds. He gave him fluids (you would know more about that than I; it might have been intravenous.) My Blacky lived for a whole year, but I had to take him to have the treatment repeated every few months. Then he was fine for a while. I so hope you get another GOOD year with your cat. You'll know when the time has come to say goodbye. God bless.

·
Registered
2,591 Posts
Hi Julie,