Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Friends and Happy New Year.
I took all 3 of our 2 year old cats for their yearly exams and shots. Feleuk/fiv, 3way+Calici. One of them needed a rabies too. The long haired domestic had evidence of tapeworm.(rice-like pieces stuck in hair around his anus) So the vet treated all 3 with drontal.
They were all pronounced healthy, but on their report cards it was suggested that we start using a monthly heartworm preventative dewormer year-round.
Something like HeartGuard... Sounds like they'd need a $35.00 test before we started too.
These are indoor and outdoor cats.
I'm just wondering what you all think / do...:patback

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
All of my cats are strictly indoors, and I have no real experience with outdoor cats except the few ferals I've seen. I do know that heartworm medication is important, especially if you have cats that are exposed to the outdoors, because while you can regulate most of what goes on in your house and keep things clean, there is no telling what your cat can get into outdoors.

Even though my girls are strictly indoor, I do still give heartworm and flea/tick meds monthly for prevention. I normally use Revolution, but I think I'm going to be switching over to Advantage Multi, because the last time I gave Revolution one of my girls had a bad reaction to it (hair loss which is common, but she scratched bad at it causing it to bleed). Never had to do any extra testing though.

Hopefully someone can give you a better answer for what your looking for. I can only tell you what I do from my own experiences. :D

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Maybe use heartgard