Cat Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I am new to this, so hopefully I'll keep the newbie mistakes to a minimum.

My wife and I have recently acquired some kittens form our barn (I am going to avoid the how, as the story is sad). The two girls are beautiful, and they are adjusting well to our cat dense house.

The kittens have had two trips to the vet. We saw a different vet each time (both were great). (Small problem for me) One vet referred to a kitten by its coat color one way and the other referred to it a different way. So, I went out on the internet to see which was right? Now I am even more confused, and I think they both are right. What is the best forum for me to upload some pictures in so I can find out if this 3-month-old kitten is a medium or long hair? Calico, tortoiseshell, or tortoiseshell and white? Diffused and diluted? About the only thing I am sure of is she is a mighty cute split faced kitten, ...help?

Best to you all!
-Jeff/Cyterreo

·
Super Moderator
27,174 Posts
Welcome!

You can post pictures in the Meet My Kitty section. I love the little split face calicos. My twins are longhaired dilute calicos because the colors are soft. Calico is their color, but lots of people use the word as a breed. If you click on my signature, you'll see Charlee Marie and Cali (Rainbow Bridge).

Calico cats are some of the most beautiful cats in the world. Calico does not refer to a specific breed of cat, but instead to a color pattern. Calicos are between 25-75% white with a mix of orange and black. These colors may be lighter or darker on some cats than others, but all three — white, black, and orange — must be present for the cat to be considered a Calico.

Calico patterns are a happy accident of genetics; breeders cannot specifically aim for a litter of Calicos. Some of the breeds with standards that allow for calico coloration include American Shorthair, Turkish Van, MaineCoon, and Japanese Bobtail.